Early Bird Special

0:00 There are several things that distinguish the Rye Youth Council Awards from other coveted prizes. The first thing is that the recipients are all […]

Published May 2, 2018 12:01 AM
3 min read


There are several things that distinguish the Rye Youth Council Awards from other coveted prizes. The first thing is that the recipients are all high school seniors of compassion and character. The second is those teens have to get up early to receive their plaques.

At the annual Awards Breakfast, held bright and early April 24 in the Rye Presbyterian Church Assembly Room, proud parents, faculty and school administrators, and nonprofit heads assembled to recognize students who have been extraordinary volunteers and mentors, courageously accepted personal challenges, and helped, through their engagement, bring the community together.

In her opening remarks to a warm and enthusiastic crowd, Beth Gallos, a member of the Rye Youth Council Leadership Team, thanked the parents “for raising these amazing children.”

Rye High School junior Sophia Cetina memorably described her experience as a member of the Connect with Tech Leadership Club, which brings all ages together, through the RYC’s Adopt A Grandfriend program for one, “as a transformative part of her high school experience.”

It’s hard to imagine a better way to start the day.

  • Robin Jovanovich



#0150 Sumin Lee received the Woof Haneman/Rye YMCA Scholarship Award from Y Executive Director Gregg Howells.

#0148 Gail Harrison Roman presented the Rye Arts Center Scholarship award in her name to Nora Murphy.

#0129 Colin Wexler received the Dick Murdoch Legacy Award, which was presented by Rev. Murdoch’s daughter, Sarah Bowen.

#0131 The Suzanne C. Murphy Memorial Scholarship Award was bestowed on Abigail Repetto and Genesee Kortick by Emilie Murphy Nimocks.

#0134 The September 11th Memorial Award was given to Lucy Liu by Stephanie Spierings.

#0136 Minori Aoki and Jason Garcia were co-recipients of the Feffi Stiassni Award presented by Sandy Stiassni.

#0139 The recipient of the Seniors4Seniors Award, sponsored by The Osborn, was Julia Garfinkel. Angie Foster, at left, who presented the award, and Lisa Dominici Faries, RYC Executive Director, at right.

#0141 The Karena Somerville Scholarship, presented by Kelley Somerville, was shared by Mackenzie Norton and Anika Narain (not pictured).

(need to put pix in folder!) The recipient of the Kate Muldowney Award, Zachary Karpovich, was unable to be at the ceremony. Sue Dickson accepted the award on his behalf from Peter Muldowney.

#0155 Alec Jautz, winner of the Rye Youth Council Award, flanked by his parents, Kristin and Ken Jautz.


Filed Under:
Subscribe and get freshly baked articles. Join the community!
Begin typing your search above and press return to search. Press Esc to cancel.

rajbet app

rajbet india

lottoland asia

lottoland india

dafabet login

dafabet app

4rabet login

khelo24bet login

rummy gold

rummy glee

teen patti

teen patti gold

teen patti joy

teen patti master

rummy modern

andar bahar


bonus new member